Being
the not-so-serious girl that I am (don’t ask what money vs. flowers means, it
just sounds cool), it’s hard for me to talk about serious issues such as
education, diseases or even poverty. So I’m going to stick with what I know and
wing it like Whitney Cummings and no, this has nothing to do with rappers, just
didn’t feel like making a new blog.
Most
of us know, are aspiring to be or have been involved with a gold-digger. Yeah
well, I know one. Sweet girl. But the things she would have done for that
dollar bill… Shame. I don’t blame her though. Her motivation is to ‘get out of
the hood’ or ‘ghetto’ or whatever and if that’s the only way she knows, then
off to find that cash, she will go. Not much anybody can do. I mean, with all
the mansions, expensive cars, branded clothes and everything else we cannot
afford flashing right in front of us on TV and magazines, it’s hard to resist
the temptation of luxury. It’s no crime to want that kind of life but getting
there is the tricky part. Everybody needs a superhero.
Speaking
of superheroes… there’s this issue that has really been bothering me for a very
long time and I am not talking about the latest copy of People Magazine. Okay,
so we see all these superheroes like the Avengers, the Teenage Mutant Ninja
Turtles, Spiderman and all their friends aspiring to save the world from
danger. Yeah, good intentions, hooray for them. But frankly what I see on TV is
New York City, Paris or Beijing getting destroyed by evil monsters. Why should
a ‘tragic’ event like that automatically mean Africa is in danger too? I never
saw a single clip of sea creatures rising up from the depths of the Atlantic
Ocean roaring at the citizens of Walvis Bay. I never saw a single clip where
aliens were invading Windhoek. Never! So let’s just make it clear here and
leave the rest of the Second World and Third World countries out of the ‘save
the world’ idea because as far as we’re concerned, we’re fine and we don’t need
cloth-wearing turtles or three bug-eyed girls with no hands or neck to save us
(à la Powerpuff Girls)!
What
is it with people stereotyping Africa anyway? Yes, we are a continent but we’re
divided into COUNTRIES, people! Countries! For people who are supposed to be so
technologically advanced, the First World occupants are quite ignorant. Let’s
cut to the chase here: There are no lions in my backyard, we do experience winter
and not everybody lives in a mud house. And since when is khaki the official
‘tourist’ colour? I mean, hasn’t anybody ever heard of jeans? You might as well
have a sign on your forehead saying ‘rob me right now’. It’s about time people
stopped wearing brown combat boots and keeping daggers in their belts in fear
of cutting off tall grass and walking through snake infested rivers. Not all of
us live in jungles. We live in normal brick buildings with iPhones plugged in
the speakers, dancing Alingo or Azonto like the world’s about to end.
And
that’s how we do it.
Mickey B*