Tuesday, 29 January 2013

Passionate Music Lovers and Overgrown Egos



It looks like I’m a blogger now. What does that achieve in my life exactly? Nothing. But I’m going to take this blank document and make it my second diary because I can. I have no idea how to write a blog and nobody showed me the guidelines so I’ll randomize (yes, randomize is a word).

I really don’t understand why people don’t talk about Namibian hip hop as much as other genres. Why does it have to be so underground? Come on, it can’t be THAT boring! So what if they talk about how rich they are, how many groupies they have following them like Twitter or the booties they love to see shaking? Uhm… okay, okay, I see your point, ever so moral music listeners. What message is that sending out, blah blah blah, fine. So you care. Kind of. And you want the music industry to better itself, obviously. I get it.

As a passionate lover of music, it is my duty to untangle the knots in our complex hip hop community, and untangle the knots, I shall.
First of all, we need to set a couple of ground rules here and I’ll introduce three. Allow me to start off with the overgrown egos of our celebrity rappers. Uh huh I’m talking to you, V-Dot or whatever you’re calling yourself. There is no such thing as ‘the best’ so get it out of your head already because I know five people better than you (and two are girls, so there!) Maybe, just MAYBE, you might be better than some other lame rapper but don’t ever claim that you ‘own’ the rap industry in the whole country, city or whatever hood you’re living in. Case closed.

Secondly, rappers, please and this is serious, do not attempt to sing unless there are at least twenty people who have approved of the decision (Facebook friends and groupies do not count!) My word, the suffering my ears had to endure… Even birds sing better than some of them do! Sometimes I feel like scratching at a chalkboard to make me feel better or skipping the song altogether. And that hurts, you know? So don’t hurt me that way, please. I’m just an innocent bystander.

Lastly, I’d like to address the issue of rappers talking about things they do not have. It’s irritating watching a music video consisting of Googled Photoshopped pictures of Lamborghini’s which are not even available in Namibia yet. Where is the logic in that? If you’re going to do something, do it right! I should even write a blog about music videos too! It’s seriously needed!

There are probably a hundred more issues to deal with in the Battle of the Namibian Hip Hop Industry but I’ll stop here because I think I’m talking a lot. My conclusion: if you are still reading this, you’re pretty awesome.

And that’s how we do it.
Mickey B*

3 comments: